Featured Posts News

Travel Ban: Canada Lifts Restrictions On Nigeria, Others

The travel ban imposed on Nigeria and nine other African countries by the Canadian government has been lifted.

Recall that Canada had imposed a travel ban on the countries following the discovery of cases of the Omicron variant in the red-listed nations.

The countries placed on the red list are Nigeria, South Africa, Botswana, Egypt, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe.

JUST IN: Nigeria Gets Travel Ban From Canada

Speaking at a media briefing on Friday, Canada’s Minister of Health, Jean-Yves Duclos, said the ban was imposed to slow the arrival of Omicron in the country.

Duclos added that the travel ban has served its purpose and is no longer needed.

The minister, however, disclosed that the reversal of the travel ban will take effect from December 18.

He said: “While we recognise the controversial nature of such a prohibition, we believe it was a necessary measure to slow the arrival of Omicron in Canada and buy us some time.

“Given the current situation, this measure has served its purpose and is no longer needed.”

I have No Regrets Relocating To Nigeria From Canada — Actress Linda Osifo

This development comes days after the United Kingdom and the UAE governments lifted the ban imposed

on travel from 10 African countries including Nigeria.


Follow us on Facebook



Related posts

JUST IN: FG Restricts Religious Gatherings To 50% Capacity

Victor Ndubuisi

LATEST: FG Salutes UK After Nigeria’s Removal From UK Red List

Victor Ndubuisi

LATEST: UK Remove Nigeria, Others From Red List After Ban By FG

Victor Ndubuisi

‘You Can Go Ahead’ – UK Govt Reacts To Put Country On Red List

Victor Ndubuisi

Nigerians Governors Forum React Over Travel Ban Placed On Nigeria By Canada, UK

Victor Ndubuisi

NCDC Confirms Three New Cases Of Omicron Variant Confirmed BY NCDC

Victor Ndubuisi