Featured Posts Politics

2023: Jonathan, Emefiele Fail To Submit Presidential Forms As APC Close Submission Window (See List of People Who Submitted)

Twenty-five presidential candidates have successfully filed their expressions of interest and nomination papers to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), and will now face the ruling party’s vetting panel.

According to, 25 of the 29 people who purchased the forms would be screened over the course of two days.

The APC has set Friday, May 13th, 2022 as the deadline for all forms to be submitted.

Former President Goodluck Jonathan and Central Bank Governor Godwin Emefiele, it was learned, had not filed the papers purchased for them by “friends and well-wishers” as of 9 p.m. on Friday night.

LATEST: APC To Commence Sale Of Nomination Forms Tuesday


According to Newsmen, the party’s legal office began scrutinizing paperwork submitted by all applicants on Thursday in order to determine the legitimacy of the papers.

According to a source in the department, the party leadership learned a valuable lesson from the late disqualification of the party’s gubernatorial candidate and his deputy in Bayelsa State owing to breaches in the then-deputy governor-elect.

“We are going through all the papers filed by all the aspirants in order to avoid any avoidable mistakes. Anyone with past criminal records or convictions will not be allowed to contest. We want to mitigate any post-election litigation that can upturn our victory,” the source said.

Those who beat the deadline include Asiwaju Bola Tinubu; Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; President African Development Bank (AfDB), Dr Akinwunmi Adesina; immediate past Minister of Science and Technology, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu and Senate President Ahmad Lawan.

2023: See When Jonathan Will Submit APC Presidential Forms

Other presidential aspirants whose nomination forms were received were former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; former Minister of Niger Delta Development, Sen. Godswill Akpabio; former Imo State governor, Sen. Rochas Okorocha; and former Ogun State governor, Sen. Ibikunle Amosun.

Others were Pastor Tunde Bakare; Cross River State governor, Prof. Ben Ayade; his Ebonyi State counterpart, Gov. Dave Umahi; Chairman, Nigeria Governors Forum (NGF) and Ekiti State governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi; Minister of State, Education, Hon. Emeka Nwajiuba; former Senate President, Sen. Ken Nnamani; Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello; Jigawa State Governor Mohammed Badaru Abubakar and former Zamfara State governor, Sen. Ahmed Yerima.


Also on the list of presidential aspirants that submitted were Senator Ajayi Borroffice; the only female aspirant, Mrs Uju Kennedy Ohnenye; Pastor Nicholas Felix Nwagbo; former House of Representative Speaker Dimeji Bankole; former Minister of State, Petroleum, Chief Timipre Sylva; former Minister of Information, Chief Ikeobasi Mokelu; and Mr Tein Jack Rich.


Follow us on Facebook




Post Disclaimer

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the author and forum participants on this website do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Anaedo Online or official policies of the Anaedo Online.

Stories you may like