Featured Posts Politics

REVEALED: Why APC Shifted Presidential Screening Exercise Was Postponed

An insider from the All Progressives Congress’s National Working Committee has disclosed why the ruling party modified the screening of presidential candidates.

According to, the party’s National Publicity Secretary, Felix Morka, said on Sunday that the exercise had been rescheduled.

The screening was supposed to take place on Monday, May 23rd, 2022.

While confirming the postponement, APC National Organising Secretary Sulaiman Argungu said the decision was made because the screening panel had not been formed.

2023 Presidency: APC South West Leaders Move To Produce Consensus Candidate


Argungu went on to say that the screening panel will be formed the day before yesterday, Monday.

Argungu stated that the ruling party’s National Working Committee will choose a seven-member panel, with one representative from each of the six geopolitical zones.

He further intimated that the presidential screening will be held at the Transcorp Hilton in Abuja on Tuesday.

The formation of screening committees, according to a secretariat insider who talked with Punch, is merely a cover.

According to the source, the postponement is part of the party’s aim to clean house and force presidential candidates to participate in suggested consensus negotiations.

The list of the aspirants who have submitted their nomination forms ahead of the May 29 presidential primary is the National Leader of the party, Senator Bola Tinubu; Vice President Yemi Osibanjo; former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; former Minister of Niger Delta Development, Sen. Godswill Akpabio; former Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation, Dr Ogbonnaya Onu; former Imo State governor, Sen. Rochas Okorocha and former Ogun state governor, Sen. Ibikunle Amosu.

Zulum Reveals Who Will Play key Role In Picking Next APC Presidential Candidate


Others were Pastor Tunde Bakare, Cross River State governor, Prof. Ben Ayade; his Ebonyi State counterpart, Gov. Dave Umahi; Ekiti State Governor, Dr Kayode Fayemi; Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba; former Senate President, Sen. Ken Nnamani; Kogi State governor, Yahaya Bello; Jigawa Governor, Mohammed Badaru Abubakar and former Zamfara State governor, Sen. Ahmed Yerima.

Others on the list are Senator Ajayi Borroffice, the only female aspirant, Mrs Uju Kennedy Ohnenye; Pastor Nicholas Felix Nwagbo, former Speaker of Representative, Dimeji Bankole; Senate President, Dr Ahmed Lawan, former Minister of Information, Chief Ikeobasi Mokelu and oil mogul, Mr Tein Jack Rich.



Follow us on Facebook



Post Disclaimer

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the author and forum participants on this website do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Anaedo Online or official policies of the Anaedo Online.


Stories you may like