Featured Posts Politics

Defection: Abaribe, Abdullahi Officially Resign As Senate Minority, Majority Leaders Respectively

Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe and Senator Yahaya Abdullahi, the two Senate Leaders, formally resigned from their seats in the National Assembly’s upper house on Tuesday.

According to, Abaribe stepped down as Senate Minority Leader, and Abdullahi stepped down as Senate Majority Leader.

The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, read their resignation letters during plenary.

Following their defection from their respective political parties as a result of the results of the primaries in which they contested and lost, both parliamentarians resigned from their roles as main officials.

2023: Sen Abaribe Dumps PDP, Resigns As Senate Minority Leader


While Abaribe switched from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Abdullahi defected from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) to the PDP.

Reading the letter, “Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe decamped from the PDP to APGA. He also has resigned his position as Minority Leader of this chamber. With this, the position of the Minority Leader is vacant for the PDP to fill.

“I wish our dear friend, Senator Abaribe, very successful membership of his new party. Now, we have APGA represented in the Senate in the person of Senator Abaribe just like YPP.”

Also, Abdullahi in his letter said he dumped the APC because he didn’t get justice.

2023: Senator Abaribe Joins APGA After Dumping PDP

“Politics is local. I can’t continue to work for the government at the centre while my people are wallowing in abject poverty.

“After failing to get justice in APC, I have moved to the PDP,” Senator Abdullahi said.



Follow us on Facebook



Post Disclaimer

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the author and forum participants on this website do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Anaedo Online or official policies of the Anaedo Online.

Stories you may like