Featured Posts Sports

NWFL Teams To Participate In Betsey Obaseki Tournament

In Benin City, Edo State, from September 7 to 17, the Betsey Obaseki Women’s Football Tournament will hold its second iteration.

The Nigeria Women’s Football League Premiership team and two other clubs from the state will play in the invitational event, according to Philip Shaibu, the deputy governor of Edo State, who announced this at a press conference on Wednesday in Benin City.

Shaibu, who is also the Vice Chairman, Board of Trustees of the tournament, said the teams are Bayelsa Queens, Edo Queens, Nasarawa Amazons, Delta Queens, Confluence Queens and Osun Babes. Others are Rivers Angels, Sunshine Queens, Naija Ratels and Royals Queens, while Fortress Ladies FC and Brave Heart FC are the local sides who will also play in the competition.

The Deputy Governor announced a cash prize of N5m for the winners, with the first runners-up receiving N3m, while second and third runners-up get N1.5m and N750,000 respectively. The other participating teams would get N500,000.

2020/21 NWPL: Gov Diri Graces Bayelsa Queens Win


He said matches would hold at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, University of Benin Sports Complex and two mini stadia at the School of Health Technology and Western Boys Secondary School.

The draw for the competition has been scheduled for Aug. 24, with the 36 state’ First Ladies billed to grace the closing ceremony.

Shaibu said the event has come to stay as a pre-season event for women’s football clubs in the country.

“This year’s event is going to be interesting. The theme for the 2021 event was used to promote girl-child education; this year’s theme will be to campaign against illicit drugs and human trafficking,” he said.


Follow us on Facebook



Post Disclaimer

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the author and forum participants on this website do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Anaedo Online or official policies of the Anaedo Online.

Stories you may like