Featured Posts Sports

Lionel Messi: Argentina, PSG Star Wins Best Fifa Men’s Player Honor

The 2022 Best Fifa Awards have recognized Lionel Messi of Argentina and Paris St. Germain as the male player of the year.

The 35-year-old won the award ahead of French attackers Karim Benzema and Kylian Mbappe.

Messi scored 27 goals in 49 appearances for club and country in 2021–2022 as he led Argentina to World Cup victory in Qatar.
Women’s player of the year was awarded to Alexia Putellas of Barcelona.
Messi, who received the honor a second time, exclaimed: “It’s incredible. It’s been a fantastic year, and I’m honored to be here and get this honor. I wouldn’t be here if it weren’t for my teammates.

“I achieved the dream I had been hoping for for so long. Very few people can achieve that and I have been lucky to do so.”
At the ceremony in Paris, Lionel Scaloni, who led Argentina to their third World Cup title, was named men’s coach of the year.

LATEST: My Only Regret Leaving Barcelona – Messi Reveals


Scaloni beat Pep Guardiola – who guided Manchester City to a sixth Premier League title – and Real Madrid’s Champions League-winning boss Carlo Ancelotti to the honour.

England manager Sarina Wiegman was named women’s coach of the year after leading the Lionesses to European Championship glory on home soil last year, the team’s first major trophy.
Aston Villa and Argentina’s Emiliano Martinez was recognised as the best men’s goalkeeper, while England’s Mary Earps won the women’s award.
Martinez, 30, helped his country win the World Cup, saving four penalties along the way including in the shootout victory against France in the final.

Earps, who plays for Manchester United in the Women’s Super League, started all six of England’s games at Euro 2022 as they won the competition.
Amputee footballer Marcin Oleksy, of Polish side Warta Poznan, won the Fifa Puskas award for the best goal of the year. He sent a stunning overhead volley against Stal Rzeszow flying into the back of the net with the help of his crutches.

Recipient of the fair play award was Luka Lochoshvili, who held the tongue of his opponent, Georg Teigl, to save his life after the midfielder had fallen unconscious.
Fifpro men’s world XI: Thibaut Courtois; Achraf Hakimi, Virgil van Dijk, Joao Cancelo; Kevin De Bruyne, Luka Modric, Casemiro; Lionel Messi, Erling Haaland, Karim Benzema, Kylian Mbappe.

Follow us on facebook



Post Disclaimer

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the author and forum participants on this website do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Anaedo Online or official policies of the Anaedo Online.


Stories you may like