Ministerial Appointments: APC Set To Send List To Tinubu, As Lobby Gets Hotter

10th NASS: Crisis Rocks APC As Wase, Doguwa Reject Tinubu’s Consensus Candidates

by Victor Ndubuisi

After several contenders for the leadership of the 10th National Assembly rejected the party’s consensus picks for the posts of Speaker, Deputy Speaker, Senate President, and Senate President, the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has been thrown into a new crisis.

Earlier, news organizations reported that the National Working Committee (NWC) of the APC had approved Hon. Abass Tajudeen (Kaduna) for Speaker and Ben Kalu (Abia) for Deputy Speaker (South East) seats.

Additionally, the APC zoned the positions of Deputy Senate President (Senator Barau Jubrin of Kano) and Senate President (Senator Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom).

10th NASS Leadership: Tinubu, APC May Opt For Consensus Senate President, Speaker

Before the ruling party made the announcements, it was reported that Bola Ahmed Tinubu, the president-elect, had also approved the aforementioned candidates.


However, the current Majority Leader and Deputy Speaker, Ahmed Idris Wase and Alhasan Ado Doguwa, respectively, rejected the consensual agreement made public by the party on Monday night during a news conference.

Wase and Doguwa declared that they would prevent any “hijacking” of the 10th National Assembly.

The legislators promised to continue with their own campaigns for speaker.


Follow us on Facebook

Post Disclaimer

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the author and forum participants on this website do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Anaedo Online or official policies of the Anaedo Online.

You may also like