Lawmaker Proposes Bill for Creation of Three New States in South-West Nigeria

Lawmaker Proposes Bill for Creation of Three New States in South-West Nigeria

by Victor Ndubuisi

The senator for Osun State’s Obokun/Oriade Federal Constituency, Oluwole Oke, has introduced a bill that will establish three new states in the South-West.

Presentation of the bill in the House of Representatives is planned. It is named “A Bill for an Act to amend the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 (as amended).”

By adding additional states and lowering the number of local government units, Oke’s plan would change the First Schedule, Part I of the Constitution to say, “The First Schedule, Part I of the Constitution is amended.”

Armed Robbers Attack APC Chairman’s Residence, Seize Party’s Vehicle

Ife-Ijesa, Ijebu, and Oke-Ogun are the planned states.


According to the draft bill, Oke-Ogun State would consist of 12 local government districts, including Atisbo, Itesiwaju, Iwajowa, Kajola, Olorunsogo, Irepo, Oorerelope, Ogbomosho North, Ogbomosho South, Saki-East, Saki-West, and Iseyin. Iseyin would be the proposed capital city.

In contrast, Ijebu East, Ijebu North-East, Ijebu Ode, Ikenne, Odogbolu, Ogun Waterside, Remo North, and Sagamu LGAs would make up Ijebu State when it is established.

Ijebu Ode is the suggested capital city of Ijebu State.

Ife Ijesa State would consist of 11 LGAs, including Atakunmosa East, Atakunmosa West, Boluwaduro, Ife Central, Ife East, Ife North, Ife South, Ilesa East, Ilesa West, Oboku, and Oriade, according to Oke, the chair of the House Committee on Judiciary.

Professor of Law, Yemi Oke Slams Chimamanda Adichie Over Letter To Biden

“I wish to forward the abovementioned bill to your office for further necessary legislative action to enable me to move same in our great Green Chamber, sir,” Oke said in a letter dated February 6, 2024, addressed to the Clerk of the House.

The South-West, which is currently made up of six federating states—Ondo, Oyo, Lagos, Ogun, Osun, and Ekiti—would have more states if this plan is successful.


The law describes the specifics of each proposed state and was sent to the Clerk of the House in a letter dated February 6, 2024. The head of the House Judiciary Committee, Oke, stated that he intended to see the bill through the parliamentary process.

The South-West would overtake the North-West if the bill passes legislatively, which currently holds the highest number of states among the geopolitical zones.



Follow us on Facebook

Post Disclaimer

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the author and forum participants on this website do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Anaedo Online or official policies of the Anaedo Online.

You may also like