Kwara United

Kwara United, Sunshine Stars swell the list of Round of 16 entrants

by Onyinye Okeke

The Harmony Boys and Owena Whales are among the four teams that booked their group stage ticket on Monday in the 2018 Federation Cup

All the group stages teams will be known by Wednesday evening in Nnewi after Kwara United, Katsina United, Wikki Tourists, El Kanemi Warriors and Sunshine Stars all booked their places in the last 16 on Monday evening.

In Lokoja’s Confluence Stadium, Kwara United stopped the Plateau State reps, Mighty Jets 3-1 while Katsina United went past Osun United 1-0 in Abuja.

Wikki Tourists spanked Bayelsa United 4-1 at the Aper Aku Stadium, Makurdi in a repeat of what Fasbir FC of Sokoto experienced against the Restoration Boys in the Round of 64 when they lost 5-0. Sunshine Stars needed two goals from returnee striker, Ajibola Otegbeye in the seventh and 77th minutes to halt the impressive run of Cofine of Uyo.

The 15 teams that will vie for the eight tickets at stake during the group stages are Akwa United, Enugu Rangers, Kogi United, Kwara United, Nasarawa United, Plateau United, Rivers United, Kano Pillars and katsina United.


Others include Wikki Tourists, Supreme Court, J. Atete, Abia Warriors, Sunshine Stars and El Kanemi Warriors.

The last ticket to the Round of 16 will be decided on Wednesday when Enyimba face Dynamite Force of Benin in the Round of 32. The People’s Elephant have their match shifted to Wednesday because of their Caf Confederation Cup quarter-final first leg tie against Rayon Sports in Kigali.

The draw for the group stages is expected to hold later in the week immediately the 16th qualifier has been revealed on Wednesday in Nnewi


Post Disclaimer

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the author and forum participants on this website do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Anaedo Online or official policies of the Anaedo Online.

You may also like