General posts

2023: List of Governors, Deputy Govs Who Have Won Senate Tickets

The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has begun its primaries to choose candidates who would run for the party’s presidential nomination in 2023.

Some governors and deputy governors who have served their second terms are running for Senate seats in the 2023 elections.

The governors and deputy governors who have successfully acquired PDP senate seats are listed below.

We Can Win Any Election In Nigeria With Our 41 Million Members – Buhari boasts

Governor of Taraba State, Darius Ishaku: Ishaku has been given a ticket by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to run in the Taraba South Senatorial District election. If he wins the 2023 elections, he would join the league of governors who have gone into the National Assembly after serving two terms in power.


Governor of Benue State, Samuel Ortom: Ortom earned a PDP ticket to run for a seat in the senate.

In the 2023 Benue north-west senatorial district election, he will be the PDP’s candidate.

According to reports, Ortom won the party’s senate nomination without opposition.

Governor of Enugu State, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi: Ugwuanyi won the Enugu North senatorial district ticket.

On Tuesday, May 24, at the Nsukka Stadium in the state’s Nsukka local government area, Ugwuanyi was proclaimed the victor of the primary election.

See Pictures of Southern Governors As They Meet In Enugu

The returning officer, Yandev Ammabai, announced the results, saying Ugwuanyi received 299 votes to defeat his nearest challenger, Eze Godwin, who received 16 votes, while Godsmack Ugwu and Okanye Celestine received 0 votes.


Governor of Abia State, Okezie Ikpeazu: Governor of Abia State, Okezie Ikpeazu, was the only candidate for Abia South. He received a total of 198 votes.

Deputy Governor of Rivers State, Harry Banigo: Mrs. Ipalibo, Dr. In the Rivers West Senatorial Primaries, Harry Banigo ran uncontested.

Senator George Thompson Sekibo, who represents the district in the Senate, did not run for re-election.


Haruna Manu, Deputy Governor of Taraba: Engr Haruna Manu, Taraba’s deputy governor, was elected to the PDP’s Taraba Central zone ticket.

LATEST: PDP Governors To Meet Wednesday Over Party Crisis

Following his victory, the deputy governor promised not to disappoint the people of his senatorial constituency if re-elected in 2023.

Advertisement will update the list when new information about lawmakers in this category who have clinched their party’s ticket becomes available.


Follow us on Facebook



Post Disclaimer

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the author and forum participants on this website do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Anaedo Online or official policies of the Anaedo Online.


Stories you may like