General posts

Profile Of Appeal Court Judges To Decide Peter Obi, Atiku’s Petitions Against Tinubu, INEC Revealed

The cases contesting Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu’s victory in the 2023 presidential election will be decided by the Presidential Election Petition Tribunal (PEPT) Court, which is located at the Court of Appeal in Abuja.

The presidential election petition tribunal judges have not yet been officially announced, despite the fact that the Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, inaugurated 277 election petitions tribunal judges to oversee matters relating to the 2023 elections late last year.

There are five petitions opposing the presidential election, including ones from Peter Obi and the Labour Party, Atiku Abubakar and the Peoples Democratic Party, Solomon Okangbuan of the Action Alliance, Princess Chichi Ojei of the Allied People’s Movement, and the Actions Peoples Party.

Election Tribunal: Peter Obi Responds To Objections Filed Against His Petition Challenging Tinubu’s Victory

The Whistler reports that when pre-hearing and full hearing sessions at the PEPT begin, the panel of judges who had already begun hearing motions-exparte earlier submitted by respective petitioners is most likely to be retained to continue preside over the case.


Below is a list of the judges from the Court of Appeal who presided over motions pertaining to the 2023 presidential election and may serve on the PEPT panel:


On July 16, 2010, Tsammani, 64, a resident of Bauchi state, was appointed to the Court of Appeals. He presided over the three-person panel that approved Obi and Atiku’s motions to serve Tinubu with their petitions through an alternative method. He received his law degree from the Nigerian Law School in Lagos in 1983, and on September 17, 1998, he began serving as a High Court judge in the state of Bauchi.

Tsammani has served as a judge in a number of electoral and financial proceedings.


The three-person panel that approved Obi and Atiku’s motions to serve Tinubu their petitions by alternative methods included Adah (66). He hails from Kogi State’s De-Kina LGA. He graduated from the Nigerian Law School in 1982, and on November 12, 1998, he was appointed a judge of the Federal High Court. On November 5, 2012, he was promoted to the Court of Appeals.


Lamidi Apapa Speaks On Move To Withdraw Peter Obi’s Petition At Tribunal

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission appealed a trial court’s ruling that partially upheld the no-case submission made by former President Goodluck Jonathan’s cousin, Robert Azibaola, in 2020. Adah rendered a landmark decision in that case.



The three-person panel that approved Obi and Atiku’s motions to serve Tinubu their petitions via alternate methods included Mohammed (62) from Kano State.

He graduated from the Nigerian Law School in 1985, and in 2010 he was appointed to the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory. On June 28, 2021, he was promoted to the Court of Appeal after nearly ten years of service.

The Nasarawa State Governorship Election Tribunal was presided over by Justice Mohammed in 2019.



In order to allow Atiku and Obi to examine the electoral materials used during the presidential election, the Independent National Electoral Commission was directed to do so by the PEPT panel, which was chaired by Benue State native and Justice Joseph Shagbaor Ikyegh (65).

Chimaroke Nnamani Asks Peter Obi To Withdraw Election Tribunal Petition

He received his law degree from the Nigerian Law School in Lagos in 1980, and on March 27, 1991, he was appointed a judge of the High Court of Benue State. On July 16, 2010, he was appointed a justice of the Court of Appeal. It’s interesting to note that Ikyegh was a member of the five-person panel that presided over the petitions for the 2019 presidential election between Atiku and President Muhammadu Buhari.

Atiku’s case was rejected by the panel.



Dongban-Mensem, the president of the Court of Appeals, graduated from the Nigerian Law School in Lagos State in 1980. She was appointed a judge of the FCT High Court in 1993, and ten years later (on June 25, 2003), she was admitted to the Court of Appeal.

She is an expert in many legal fields, including administrative and constitutional law, criminal and civil procedure law, and legislative drafting.

Farouk Lawan, the former chairman of the federal House of Representatives ad hoc committee on gasoline subsidies, was one of the high-profile cases she presided over.


2023 Presidency: He’s A Consistent Serial Loser, Tinubu Asks Tribunal To Trash Atiku’s Petition

The most senior judges after Dongban-Mensem are Justices Raphael Chikwe Agbo(2), Jimi Olukayode Bada(3), Oyebisi Folayemi Omoleye (4), Ahmad Olanrewaju Belgore(5), Jummai Hannatu C. Sankey (6), Ali Abubakar Babandi Gumel (7), Uzoamaka Ifeyinwa Ndukwe-Anyanwu (8), Chidiebere Nwaoma Uwa (9), Chioma E. Nwosu-Iheme (10), Theresa Ngolika Orji-Abadua (11), Joseph Shagbaor Ikyegh(12) and Haruna Simon Tsammani (13).



Follow us on Facebook



Post Disclaimer

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the author and forum participants on this website do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Anaedo Online or official policies of the Anaedo Online.


Stories you may like