UPDATE: Senate Declares Recess After 2024 Budget Presentation

UPDATE: Senate Approves Appointment Of 7 Of Tinubu’s 10 New INEC RECs

by Victor Ndubuisi

Seven of President Tinubu’s 10 nominations have been approved by the Senate to serve as Resident Electoral Commissioners, or RECs, for the Independent National Electoral Commission, or INEC.

The screening did not feature the remaining three nominees.

UPDATE: Bola Tinubu Appoints Nine INEC RECs

The following nominations have been approved: Mr. Abubakar Ahmed from Gombe; Shehu Wahab from Kwara; Aminu Idris from Nasarawa; Mr. Etekamba Umoren from Akwaibom; Mr. Isha Ehimeakne from Edo; Barr. Oluwatoyin Babalola from Ekiti; and Mohammed Abubakar Sadiq from Niger.

Remember that the Senate was to confirm the names of the new RECs that President Tinubu had sent?


Subject to the Nigerian Senate’s approval, each appointment is for a period of five years.

The appointments have now been approved by the Senate.


Follow us on Facebook

Post Disclaimer

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the author and forum participants on this website do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Anaedo Online or official policies of the Anaedo Online.

You may also like