Featured Posts News

2023: Nigerian President Must Come From South-West – Yoruba Leaders

On Friday, a stakeholders gathering of officials from the All Progressives Congress (APCSouth-West )’s branch convened in Lagos State and decided that the next president of Nigeria must come from their area.

Former Lagos State governor Bola Tinubu, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, and Governor of Ekiti State, Dr Kayode Fayemi, were among the major presidential and governorship aspirants of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the South-West who attended a meeting co-convened by former interim national chairman Chief Bisi Akande and former Ogun State governor Olusegun Osoba on Friday in Lagos.

After the 2-hour meeting, Chief Akande told the press that the party’s South-West branch was unanimous on the president coming to the zone in 2023. He went on to say that everyone who attended the meeting had a good time.

2023 Presidency: Arewa Forum Warns Southerners Over Issuing of Threat

He declined to answer any further questions from reporters. However, it was reported that the conference upheld all applicants’ right to run for office while asking them to conduct themselves civilly during their campaigns.


The conference was held to guarantee that candidates for the general election in 2023 run their campaigns without animosity or rancor. Aspirants for the National Assembly also attended the gathering. Tinubu, Osinbajo, and Fayemi are all running for president.

Minister of Works and Housing, Mr Babatunde Fashola; Speaker of the House of Representatives, Mr Femi Gbajabiamila; Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment, Chief Niyi Adebayo; and Governors Rotimi Akeredolu, Dapo Abiodun, and Gboyega Oyetola of Ondo, Ogun, and Osun states, respectively, were also present at the meeting. Rauf Aregbesola, the former governor of Osun State and Minister of the Interior, and Senator Iyiola Omisore, the APC national secretary, were among the others. In the same car as Aregbesola, Osinbajo arrived at the meeting place.

Jonathan Reveals Why He Convened 2014 National Conference

Ibikunle Amosun, the former governor of Ogun State; Pastor Tunde Bakare, the former Speaker of the House of Representatives; and other Yoruba hopefuls on the party’s platform were all missing.


Follow us on Facebook



Post Disclaimer

The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the author and forum participants on this website do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of Anaedo Online or official policies of the Anaedo Online.

Stories you may like